BC named Divisional Champions and Nakkertok, National Club Champions

It was the final day of racing in Gatineau at the Nakkertok Nordic Ski Centre and the events organized by ENGNE started of with firm and fast tracks, before they started to turn to slush for the later competitors at +12C.

Amelia Wells of Victoria B.C. (Strathcona Nordics), perhaps more familiar with warmer temperatures, was the women’s winner 22 seconds ahead of Ottawa, Nakkertok’s Clara Hegan, who was also the top junior. Canmore’s Anna Parent was 3rd.

Edmonton’s Alison Mackie was the 2nd junior followed by Elie Anne Tremblay of Quebec City.

National Team racer Olivier Léveillé from Racine dominated the men’s skate race, winning by 40 seconds over Julian Smith of Owen Sound. Max Hollman of Thunder Bay was 3rd and Kanata’s Aidan Kirkham, uOttawa was the top local racer in 13th.

In the U20 men’s division Alexandre Cormier of Piedmont, Fondeurs-Laurentides was the winner, followed by Justin Boudreau of Boucherville, Mauriski and Adam Heale of Rossland, Black Jack Ski Club. Ry Prior of Chelsea was the top local in 7th.

In the afternoon races for U16/U18, conditions were slushy and slow, quite a challenge for the younger competitors.

The U18 Boys race was won by Eamon Wilson, Burnaby, Hollyburn Ski Club won gold, with the top local skier being Graeme Abbot of Kanata in 6th.

U18 Girls was won by Anika Wallin of Williams Lake and the top local was Addison Frank of Ottawa, Nakkertok.

Ottawa, Nakkertok’s Owen Siderius won gold in the U16 boys race with Aramintha Bradford the winner of the U16 women’s race and the top local was Evelyn Davies in 8th.

In the University/College Championships Nicolas Beaulieu of Orford, uLaval won gold and Kanata, uOttawa’s Aidan Kirkham won silver. On the women’s side Amelia Wells from Victoria, skiing for uCalgary was the winner and Helen McCulligh Kanata, Carleton U, won silver. Katya Semeniuk of Ottawa, Queens claimed bronze.

Carleton’s women’s team won CCUNC championships, with U of Calgary capturing the men’s championship.

B.C. was the divisional champions and Nakkertok Ski Club won their 13th consecutive National Championships.

There are many aggregate age group champions, CCUNC champions that can be found here.

While we have identified the race champions, we also need to identify the real champions, who without their extraordinary efforts, the race wouldn’t have been run. The many volunteers of ENGNE, the local clubs, and universities that shoveled snow, made home-made snow and otherwise contributed to making the event a tremendous success.

For more information, please contact:

French-language media:

  • Marie-Pier Pelletier-Millette media@engne.ca 819-593-1159
  • Pierre Millette info@engne.ca 343-541-8162

English-language media:

  • Anton Scheier media@engne.ca 613-601-8257